• Blog Stats

    • 36,341 hits
  • Categories

  • Archives

May 7 – Manny Being Manny: Ramirez Suspended for 50 Games for Positive Drug Test

mlb-logo1(Los Angeles, CA) – Well this is the biggest of them all so far, as Manny will leave the division leading Dodgers for the next 50 games due to a positive drug test.    The commissioner’s office didn’t announce the specific violation by Ramirez, but in a statement Thursday provided by Major League Baseball, Ramirez attributed the violation to medication he had been prescribed by a doctor.

Per ESPN.COM:

Recently I saw a physician for a personal health issue. He gave me a medication, not a steroid, which he thoughtwas OK to give me,” Ramirez said. “Unfortunately, the medication was banned under our drug policy. Under the policy that mistake is now my responsibility. I have been advised not to say anything more for now.

“I do want to say one other thing; I’ve taken and passed about 15 drug tests over the past five seasons. I want to apologize to [Dodgers owner Frank] McCourt, Mrs. McCourt, [manager Joe] Torre, my teammates, the Dodger organization, and to the Dodger fans. LA is a special place to me and I know everybody is disappointed. So am I. I’m sorry about this whole situation.”

I am sure the Friday Nite Yanks fans will have their comments.

4 Responses

  1. Sad day for Baseball as a whole and especially Dodger fans. If you’re a Giants fan or an NL West rival you’re stoked.

    As a Yankee’s fan aren’t you happy you don’t have him now?!?

    Manny Ramirez stock has already plummeted nearly 30% today.

    Scott Boras’ headache must be epic right now…

  2. Manny Ramirez got busted for HCG short for a female fertility drug Tom!

  3. My how the mighty have fallen…just last week i heard manny being called the greatest RH hitter of all time (sorry joltin joe) on WFAN…guess we cant say that anymore…to me everyone who tests positive has destroyed their legacy…arod, bonds, manny, clemens…keep them all out of the Hall…you have disgraced yourselves by cheating and that is your problem…you have disgraced the game that i love and that is my problem with these jackasses…
    the only thing that we can do is take away the steriod policy all together…let everyone get as juiced as they want so at least everyone is on a level playing field…that way we will be able to compare players against their peers to see who belongs in the hall

  4. Manny Ramirez was taking steroids. I think he was dirty and fail the 2003 drug test that was anouymous. Jose Canseco named A-Rod already in the book but I didn’t believe it because I thought Jose Canseco had a credibility issue.

Leave a Reply

